insideOut fitness/wellness: because looking good just isn’t enough…….oh yeah!!!

I used to think that being healthy and fit was about having a strong lean body. I used to think that the outside of me was the important attribute to mold, shape and realign. I thought that if I was in good shape and if I looked good, I would feel good. But I learned from my own personal experience and after years of being a workout fanatic that health, fitness and over all well being includes the inside of me as much as the outside of me. If I do not have both in shape, if one doesn’t match the other, then there is a big piece of the puzzle that is missing. It’s like having a house that looks great on the outside but when you go inside it is filled with clutter, the floor boards are out of alignment,  the windows are broken, and the toilet won’t flush…..get the picture….?

Now don’t get me wrong, it is healthy to have a fit, strong, lean body. It’s wonderful to look good and fit into a great looking pair of jeans “ just right”  but health and being fit goes so much deeper than that.  A key component is: how I feel about myself?  Do I like myself? Am I happy? Do I sleep well? Am I content? Am I stressed out and do I have time to take care of myself? Am I nice to people? Are my thoughts positive?

For many years I worked out for 6 hours a day. I was in perfect shape and I looked good on the out side.I was a model and an actress, but I did not feel good on the inside. I couldn’t answer yes to any of the questions above.  I smoked too much. I was stressed all the time. I was completely neurotic about my body and shopped too much, yet everyone, including myself, thought that I was healthy because I looked “good” and nothing was further from the truth. I was that house that I wrote about in the beginning of my story…..

I didn’t know what to do to feel better and then I meet a woman who was beautiful, happy and free from debilitating habits. She was a success in all areas of her life and she became my mentor. She told me about a book that changed her life and it just might change mine: THE POWER OF INTENTION by Doctor Wayne Dyer. Thus began my journey of the WORK-IN.

I read the book and followed the instruction of Dr. Dyer and it literally did turn everything INsideOut for me. I began to use my mind as a vehicle to enhance my inner body. I started with positive thought and reached for higher consciousness through meditation and yoga.

After “working in”, I began to feel good on the inside. I quit smoking and drinking. I found a calm center. I don’t shop too much anymore. I changed my entire eating habits and dropped weight while working out less.  I have found balance of body and mind. I really believe that looking good just isn’t enough. I need to feel good about who I am and walk through the world with ease and grace. As I love myself, I will love the world around me.

The “work-in” is what truly changed my life and continues to do so on a daily bases.

photo-6

Leave a Reply

